One Winner

With my teenage son being somewhat pleased with President Obama’s reelection as President, I wanted to remind him that Mr. Obama also has flaws. I thought to point out how the President had flagrantly misquoted scripture. It was something that had really irked me when once when listening to him.

I went to Google to see what it was that he had said that had bothered me. In the process, I came across a post by a Christian leader who also spoke of the President misquoting scripture. Regrettably, I was troubled and saddened to see that this respected man of God handled Mr. Obama in such an unloving and dishonoring way.  And, many of the comments that followed by supposed Christians, were far worse.

What was disturbing then soon became cathartic as I reflected on my own attitude and response toward Mr. Obama’s indiscretion. I’ve realized that it has been, in many ways, unhelpful to me, to anyone else that heard me venting, to Mr. Obama and to the kingdom of God that I was supposed to be representing.

Airing frustrations and disagreements in an unloving or dishonoring manner is never helpful. And, as Christians we are called to love everyone and honor our leaders. We would do well to point out our differences that we have with people in a loving way and not pull them apart with our attitudes and words. It’s no different with the man, Barack Obama. Also, let’s remember to honor him despite any differences.

Rob Morley

Photo by BlueHorizon

